Skip to main content

Elections Page

Information about Board of Director Elections will be posted to this page.

We have a three member, at-large board. Each position comes with a three year term, and the terms are staggered such that we hold a re-election every year around November if it looks like we will have a contested election. Nomination Petition Forms are typically due in early-to-mid November, and always publically announced per Oregon Revised Statute. There is no limit to how many terms a board member may serve. Being on the board is a serious commitment and it is recommended that those interested in running for the board attend and participate in several board meetings in order to learn about the legal requirements and business operations of the District.


2019 Status: 

Position#1 was up for re-election in 2019. Incumbent Director Dennis Gant won the election with no contest and was the sole nominee to submit a valid petition.


2018 Status:

Position#3, held by Kelly Patrick, was up for re-election in 2018. Nomination Petition Forms containing at least ten bonafide water right holder signatures were due on October 9, 2018 by 3:00 pm at the District Office in order for candidates to be placed on the ballot. Kelly Patrick was the sole nominee and only person to submit a petition form in 2018, and so there will therefore not be a contested election in 2018. Per Oregon Revised Statute, Kelly Patrick will be named the Sole Nominee and No Contest Winner of Position#3 during the October 2018 regular board meeting. The Position #3 term to be served runs from January 2019 through December 2021.


2017 Status: Polls for the 2017 election closed on November 14th, 2017 at 8pm. Results are as follows:

Position #1: Contested election between Skip Frank and Dennis Gant.

Dennis Gant recieved 70 votes.

Skip Frank recieved 69 votes.

Two recounts were initiated with the same results.

Dennis Gant was therefore declared the winner of Position #1 and will be sworn into office on January 17th, 2018.

Position #2: No Contest Winner: Incumbent Steve McCarrel

Position #3: No Contest Winner: Incumbent Kelly Patrick


For more information about upcoming elections:  Inquire with the Office Manager, Kathy Ferguson at 64672 Cook Ave., Suite One, Bend, OR  97703 or Phone 541-388-0658. Election notice updates will be made to this page as they become available.